I just got off the phone with my mum. For a good chunk of our conversation, I was crying and bitching about all sorts of work crap - ok, entirely Simon crap. And much to my own surprise, this is the first time I've actually got *upset* and not just angry about the whole situation. But I digress. Up until tonight, any time I've become upset while talking to my mother, and even if she only thinks I'm about to cry, she tells me to calm down, wash my face and go to bed. Apparently in her mind, the combination of those three things will solve any problem, no matter how serious. But for the first time ever, tonight she didn't say any of those things. She actually commiserated with me! It was very surreal.