newschick: (Default)
[personal profile] newschick
I can't believe it's Thursday already. Heathy comes tomorrow, and then the day after that it's R.E.M Day!! How exciting. How nerve wracking! I'm not ready!! I have to do laundry, I have to pack...I need more time!
The Jaycee convention officially kicked off yesterday, and was a surprisingly large amount of fun. The big opening ceremonies were supposed to be on the back patio of the civic centre, but thanks to a rather large thunderstorm, we had to very quickly move everything down to the underground parking lot. Not quite as nice a setting, but still enjoyable. The lot opens out with a partial-view of the river, and we managed to set up seating and a sound system in a matter of minutes, just in time for the VIP delegates to arrive by dragon boat at the shore. There were about a hundred people there last night, and it's amazing how high the energy level was - it's very contagious, almost cult-like. I didn't want to leave as early as I did, but by 10 o'clock I simply couldn't stay up any longer. I'll be sorry to miss most of the weekend - all the fun stuff goes on either at night, or over the weekend while I'm in Ohio. But hey, not like I'd trade in my weekend plans for anything!
Had a meeting with Walter yesterday afternoon as well - took over an hour. There was lots of talk, many frustrations aired, and a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. Of course, talk is one thing, we'll see if there's any actual change. But in the meantime, I'm glad to have had the chance to vent.

Date: 2003-09-25 10:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] aphraeldanae.livejournal.com
you vented? what was said? what was promised? what will be taken back? what what what???????

oh...and 'quit the jaycees' (it's just not the same if it's not said in person...)

Date: 2003-09-25 11:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] newschick.livejournal.com
I vented about the supreme lack of organization, lack of leadership, and lack of trust trust in the newsroom, how other staff come to me with questions and problems because they know the person who's actually in charge doesn't know anything, how I've been doing double, if not triple duty the past three weeks and I'm tired of being a crutch without getting some form of compensation, how he wouldn't give me the ND spot because I didn't have any management skills and because he wanted someone who could continue to uphold the level of professionalism with the complex system Paul had set up and yet I'm doing the managing and the complex system has falling to shit because of the person he did have faith in...basically I let loose with every complaint I've had since Simon started. The assignment board hasn't been updated, our new reporter doesn't get her daily schedule more than a few hours before the end of her shift the day before, files are getting lost, things we should be covering or at the very least doing copy stories on are getting missed. So, most likely effective Monday, I'll be the Senior News Editor in charge of assignments and scheduling. But, first Walter has to talk with Simon and 'suggest' that this happen because heaven forbid he should step on any toes and actually say "Ok, the newsroom has fallen to shit, here's what we're going to do to fix things." And as far as monetary compensation, I got the usual line "Yes, I think you deserve more money. It's been a while since your last increase. We'll have a look at things and see what we can do about it" so I'm not expecting much any time soon.

Profile

newschick: (Default)
newschick

April 2009

S M T W T F S
   12 34
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 09:09 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios