newschick: (Default)
[personal profile] newschick
Wow, I'd forgotten how horribly boring Sunday mornings were. It's just after seven, I've been at work for two and a half hours and I'm about ready to slit my wrists. Thank god there's news to work on today though or I'd go totally insane. Yay for striking workers :) Normally I feel just about no pity for strikers, but I feel quite bad for the International guys - they're not fighting for more money or anything like that, through no fault of their own, they're forced to fight for their jobs.



Today is also the six year anniversary of the killing of Theresa Vince. I remember going to the five year memorial last year and being totally overwhelmed. I know I'm supposed to keep an emotional distance from stories I'm working on, but that one struck me so hard. Theresa worked at Sears in the downtown mall, and had been sexually harassed by her supervisor for years. She complained to Sears officials but they did nothing. Then on June 3, 1996, only a few days before she was going to retire, Theresa's boss came into work, locked her in the office with him and shot her, then shot himself. Nice way out, asshole.
On a more upbeat note, I love PT Cruisers! My dad laughs at me every time I say that. I used to think they were the ugliest, stupidest vehicles on the road. Then the station got one (the CFCO Classic Cruiser), I drove it and fell in love. I just got back from taking a spin over to McDonalds. It's so much fun to drive! My only problem, it took me about two minutes sitting in the parking lot trying to figure out how to roll down the damn windows. Who's idea was it to put the little window roll-downy thing on the dash?? They go on the door! Sheesh! Some people.

Profile

newschick: (Default)
newschick

April 2009

S M T W T F S
   12 34
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 03:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios