Yeah, I'm a snob - so?
Jul. 19th, 2002 07:41 amThere's nothing I hate more than ignorant, low brow, knuckle-dragging morons. Our beloved sports guy has been absolutely glued to the tv all morning watching some golf tournament or other - I hear it's a big deal. He's freaking obsessed with golf, thinks the world should revolve around a sport in which a bunch of people whack little white balls with sticks. Woooooo...exciting. During the commercial break he started yelling at the tv (he gets so worked up about the smallest things) that there were enough ads, he wanted more golf, golf doesn't stop for commercial breaks so there shouldn't be commercial breaks. Now we all get annoyed at ads during our favourite shows, but he was about to bust a vein. So after his little 'golf doesn't stop' rant, I said, mostly jokingly, 'aw, golf should just stop altogether.' He flipped! He said "Oh yeah? OH YEAH?? Well they should burn down every fucking theatre in the world, whaddya think of that, eh?" Uh huh....excellent retort. I said that theatre and golf were just slightly different things, not really very comparable. Yes, many people like golf, good for them. Theatre has been enlightening and entertaining the masses for thousands of years. It's a vital part of society. Golf is golf. Get over it.